Shri Prakash Mhaske

Shri Prakash Mhaske is Chairperson and Member (Power System) in the Central Electricity Authority(CEA), Ministry of Power, Government of India. He is also holding additional charge of Member(Grid Operations & Distribution). He has over 34 years of service in different government organisations including CEA, CERC and NRPC.


Shri Mhaske did his graduation in Engineering in the year 1982 from Visveswarayya Regional College of Engineering, Nagpur University. He joined CEA in 1984 as a Group-A officer in the Central Power Engineering Services, through the Combined Engineering Services Examination of UPSC.

He has worked in almost all the fields of power sector viz., Generation, Transmission, Grid Operation and Electricity Regulation. He has vast experience in the fields of Transmission Planning including techno-economic appraisal of transmission schemes and monitoring, Grid Operation and Regulatory issues.

He has also worked in Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) and was involved in formulating various Regulations such as Tariff Regulations; Availability Based Tariff (ABT), Indian Electricity Grid Code, Open Access, Electricity trading, Grant of Transmission licence, etc.

He was Member Secretary, Northern Regional Power Committee and was responsible for resolution of Grid Operation, Protection and commercial issues for safe, secure and economic operation of grid and for improvement of grid performance.

He has been appointed as a Part-time Director on the Board of Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited with effect from 25th June 2019. His directorship has been effective from 17th July 2019 after allotment of Director Identification Number (DIN) by Ministry of Corporate Affairs.