Shri A.K. Balasubrahmanian
Director, Technical

Shri A. K. Balasubrahmanian is a Mechanical Engineering Graduate from Regional Engineering College (now NIT), Kozhikode. After completing one year orientation course in Nuclear Science and Engineering from BARC Training School (28th Batch), he joined the erstwhile Nuclear Power Board (now NPCIL) under the Department of Atomic Energy in 1985. He has about 33 years experience in Design, Development, Engineering, Pre-project studies, Design co-ordination, Safety Review, Stress Analysis & Seismic qualification, Procurement, Construction and Commissioning of Nuclear Power Plants. He is credited with design, development and implementation of First of a kind Reactor Control & Shutdown systems for TAPS-3&4. He is equally versatile in PHWRs and LWRs, having worked in design & engineering of these reactor systems. He has participated in the preparation of Regulatory Codes and has been instrumental in obtaining Regulatory Consents & Clearances for various projects. He has experience in technical discussions with International reactor vendors.

Shri Balasubrahmanian has made significant contributions in the implementation of 220 MW, 540 MW & 700 MW PHWR projects and 1000 MW PWR (KKNPP) in the areas of his expertise. He has made extensive contributions in safe and continued operation of PHWR based stations, particularly in the area of coolant channels. Shri Balasubrahmanian has been conferred with NPCIL Technical Excellence Award and a number of other NPCIL awards in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the Nuclear Power Programme.

Shri A.K. Balasubrahmanian is a Distinguished Scientist of the Department of Atomic Energy. Prior to taking over as Director (Technical) on 14th August 2018, he was working as Executive Director (Engineering) with the overall responsibility of design & engineering of PHWRs and procurement of Reactor core components, Fuel and Fuel Handling components. He is also a Member of the Board of Management of Heavy Water Board and Director in NPCIL-NALCO Power Company Ltd.